Alan Edward Williams

Composer/ cyfansoddwr

Shelley’s Place

Leave a comment

In the spirit of collaboration, here’s a tune I wrote on holiday in the South of France – feel free to use it in any way you wish. I must have been feeling relaxed… (here’s a lead sheet in pdf for Shelley’s Place) . I ought to credit that great guitarist and composer Haftor Medboe with the chord that forms the intro and C section of the tune. He showed it to me when I was studying guitar with him too many years ago. I guess it’s what some folk call a “meme” – a unit of cultural exchange. In fact, come to think of it, I think he showed me the Fmaj7/G chord as well, and that’s pretty much all the non-standard chords in the tune. So it’s really  a collaborative composition, given that none of the material is absolutely original. 

Leave a Reply

